Skip to main content

Racing

The club runs a full calendar of time trials from early April through to the end of August. The 2024 calendar is as follows:

Andover Wheelers TT Programme 2024 (Version 02.1)
# Date Event Time Course League Cost
1 Tuesday 2nd April Monxton 8.25m TT (2 Up) Cancelled. 18:30 P614c   Free
2 Tuesday 9th April Monxton 8.25m TT Cancelled. 18:30 P614c   £5.00
3 Tuesday 16th April Monxton 8.25m TT Cancelled. 18:30 P614c   £5.00
4 Tuesday 23rd April Clanville 10m TT (Road Bikes Only) 19:00 P604c   £5.00
5 Tuesday 30th April Quarley 8m TT (New Course) 19:00 TBA   £5.00
6 Tuesday 7th May Mayfly Wherwell 15m TT (New Course) 19:00 TBA   £5.00
7 Tuesday 14th May Ludgershall 10m TT (Pre-entry Only) 19:00 P603c   £5.00
8 Tuesday 21st May TBC TBC TBC   TBC
9 Tuesday 28th May Monxton 8.25m TT 19:00 P614c   Free
10 Tuesday 4th June Red Rice 16m TT 19:00 P621/16c   £5.00
11 Tuesday 11th June Thruxton Circuit 10m TT Championship (inc. Handicap) 19:00 N/A   £10.00
12 Tuesday 18th June Mayfly Wherwell 15m TT (New Course) 19:00 TBA   £5.00
13 Tuesday 25th June Thruxton Circuit (TBC) 18:00 N/A   TBC
14 Tuesday 2nd July Championship Course 25m TT (Course TBA) 19:00 TBA   £5.00
15 Tuesday 9th July Clanville 10m TT Road Bike Championship 19:00 P604c   £5.00
16 Saturday 13th July Thruxton Circuit (TBC) 18:00 N/A   TBC
17 Tuesday 16th July Thruxton Circuit 10m TT 19:00 N/A   £10.00
18 Tuesday 23rd July Ludgershall 10m TT (Pre-entry Only) 19:00 P603c   £5.00
19 Tuesday 30th July Thruxton Circuit 10m TT 19:00 N/A   £10.00
20 Tuesday 6th August Red Rice 16m TT 19:00 P621/16c   £5.00
21 Tuesday 13th August Monxton 8.25m TT 19:00 P614c   £5.00
22 Tuesday 20th August Monxton 8.25m TT 19:00 P614c   £5.00
23 Tuesday 27th August Thruxton 10m TT (2 Up - Lottery) (30 Sec intervals) 18:30 N/A   £10.00
24 Sunday 8th September Ham Hill Climb Championship 10:00 N/A No Free

In due course, all of the above will be published on the Events page, along with extra details about the courses.

Andover Wheelers hill climb TT

Time trials are a great way to get into competitive cycling. You might think that you need a special bike and helmet to race a time trial, but that definitely isn't the case! As long as you have a front and rear light, plus a helmet, you can ride more or less any roadworthy bike. Every event has classes for time trial bikes and road bikes, so you're at no disadvantage by just riding your normal road bike.

Our time trial events contribute towards season long leagues as follows:

  • Time trial bikes - League A
  • Time trial bikes - League B
  • Road bikes

Included in the calendar are several time trials that are free to enter for club members.

There are also a couple of special "2-up" time trials that are ridden in pairs. These add teamwork and communication into the mix to prevent a unique challenge. The end of season 2-up lottery time trial at Thruxton is great fun and there's a fantastic barbecue to enjoy afterwards.

Andover Wheelers 2-up lottery TT
Wheelers enjoying the 2-up lottery TT at Thruxton